The Celebration Begins

Hi All,

After a very long time I got a chance to look back at my sweet heart (My Blog).

In this post I will try to Justify the title of this post “The Celebration Begins”. When I say this double quoted phrase, I meant the celebrations in my life. The moments that brings me the extreme Joy and happiness. The moments that fills the ever ending cheers on my face. The moments that remains as sweet memories forever in my life. The moments about which I would love to share with you all.

Well…..No More Poetry goes here.(I am not a poet).

I am talking about one of the happiest celebrations in my life ie., MY SISTER’S ENGAGEMENT. Being a part of a typical Orthodox Hindu Family, we treat this as a very important ceremony before ones marriage. And because this is my sister’s, its very important for me.

Decoration, Focus lights, Idols of god, A welcome banner with the bride and bridegroom’s names,  Chopped Banana trees on both sides of the entrance, People having traditional mark on the face (Namam in Telugu) , Ceremonial chairs on the stage, Flower bouquet’s hanging on the walls, Mineral water bottles, chairs arranged for invitees, A Car or an auto hired for the whole day, Coffee, Tea, are the typical things you see before you start any of the traditional ceremonies.

The ceremony starts with welcoming the Bridegroom and his relatives. Once they come in they will be served the Breakfast. Then starts the actual ceremony. The priest (pujari) starts the puja chanting all the mantras sitting at the idols of God.

Relatives having break fast and talking to each other, Priest’s mantra’s, Some people moving fast around in hurry,  Flower garlands with different colors, Bride and Bridegroom’s sitting on the Ceremonial Chairs, some suggesting different items in lunch, some tasting them, Some standing at the entrance and welcoming the relatives with a smile, Kids running around and playing in the function hall, Kinds’ mom’s running behind them to take care of them, Youngsters serving Coffee and water to the visitors, Old people sitting at some corner and taking care of all the belongings of their children, Bride and the groom busy on the stage chit chatting/interacting with each other, children and youngsters teasing them, Bride and Bridegroom appearing on the stage with different outfits (like a fashion show) are all the Typical events during the ceremony.

The outfits will generally be …….

Youngsters in Jeans and T-shirt, Middle age people in a Khadhi shirt and Dhoti, Priest in no shirt and a dhoti, Bride groom in coat, Bride in a traditional Saree, Chuff in a normal shirt and a long towel AND I AM IN A BLACK JEANS AND SHORT KURTHA.

All these are something’s which I have personally experienced in the Engagement Ceremony of my Sister that has happened on 21st August 2008. I have taken lot of videos/photos and they were very nice.

🙂

Very happy to share this with you all.

You should be expecting much similar post during the Marriage.

Cheers,

Durga Prasad

5 thoughts on “The Celebration Begins

  1. Hi Durga,

    Congratulations to your Sis[:)]..and You presented those moments in this blog with such a visibility yaar …Keep it up ..we are expecting more from you…Yes the celebrations begin !!..

    Have fun !

  2. Hey man!!

    Obviously ur happiest moment.. Ur route is clear naa:-) 🙂

    1 thing is clear from the blog.. You have not done any work for ur sister’s marriage and was watching all stuff’s sitting in the middle to write the blog. 😀

    Thanks & Regards
    Mukund

  3. @Mukund,

    You are as funny as always.

    And by the way…. you forgot to say that i had a notebook to note all the things going around, when i was sitting in the middle of the hall…. 🙂

    @Vyshu,

    Thanks a lot. You wishes have already reached my sys. She sent you a BIG THANKS in return.

    I hope it will reach you soon 😉

Leave a Reply

